The American Physiological Society Press Release

press release logo

APS Contact: Stacy Brooks


Phone: 301.634.7209

Twitter: @APSPhysiology

APS Announces 2014 Society Lectureship Award Winners

Winners recognized for excellence in physiology to present lectures at Experimental Biology

San Diego, CA (April 26, 2014) — The American Physiological Society (APS) today announced the recipients of its 2014 Society Lectureship Awards. APS is pleased to recognize these outstanding honorees who will present their lectures at the Experimental Biology meeting (April 26–30, 2014 in San Diego).

James M. Anderson, MD, PhD, director of the NIH Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives, is the winner of the The Physiology in Perspective: The Walter B. Cannon Award Lectureship. This lectureship is the most prestigious award that APS bestows and recognizes the lifetime achievement of an outstanding physiological scientist and APS member. Dr. Anderson will present his lecture “The Contribution of Paracellular Transport to Epithelial Homeostasis” on Saturday, April 26, at 5:30 PM in San Diego Convention Center Room 20A.

Kazuhiro Nakamura, PhD, an associate professor at Kyoto University in Japan, has won the Henry Pickering Bowditch Award Lectureship for early-career achievement. This award honors original and outstanding accomplishments in the field of physiology and is given to an APS member under 42 years of age or who are less than eight years from the start of their first faculty or staff research scientist position beyond postdoctoral training. Dr. Nakamura will present his lecture “Central Thermoregulatory System: A Mechanism that Defends Life from Various Environmental Stressors” on Sunday, April 27, at 5:45 PM in San Diego Convention Center Room 20A.

Michael Joyner, MD,  the Frank R. and Shari Caywood Professor of Anesthesiology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, is the winner of the Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award. This award honors an APS member who has made outstanding contributions to physiological research and demonstrated dedication and commitment to mentorship. Schmidt-Nielsen awardees must demonstrate excellence in training of young physiologists whether by mentoring, guiding and nurturing their professional and personal development, developing novel education methods/materials, promoting scientific outreach efforts, attracting individuals to the field of physiology, or by otherwise fostering an environment exceptionally conducive to education in physiology. Dr. Joyner will deliver his reflections on mentoring at 12 PM on Monday, April 28, Marriott Marquis and Marina Hotel in Marriott Hall, Salon 2.

This year, APS has selected more than 320 researchers to receive awards, lectureships, and travel fellowships honoring excellence and aptitude in physiology. Learn more about APS’s EB awards program and the 2014 award recipients on the APS website.

NOTE TO JOURNALISTS: To schedule an interview with a member of the research team, please contact Stacy Brooks at or (240) 432-9697.


About Experimental Biology 2014

Experimental Biology is an annual meeting comprised of more than 14,000 scientists and exhibitors from six sponsoring societies and multiple guest societies. With a mission to share the newest scientific concepts and research findings shaping current and future clinical advances, the meeting offers an unparalleled opportunity for exchange among scientists from throughout across the United States and the world who represent dozens of scientific areas, from laboratory to translational to clinical research.

About the American Physiological Society (APS)

APS is a nonprofit organization devoted to fostering education, scientific research and dissemination of information in the physiological sciences. The Society was founded in 1887 and today represents more than 11,000 members and publishes 14 peer-reviewed journals.

Physiology is the study of how molecules, cells, tissues and organs function in health and disease. Established in 1887, the American Physiological Society (APS) was the first U.S. society in the biomedical sciences field. The Society represents more than 10,500 members and publishes 15 peer-reviewed journals with a worldwide readership.



Highlights of Physiological Research at the EB 2011 Meeting

Released February 16, 2011 - The American Physiological Society, a co-sponsor of the Experimental Biology 2011 meeting, offers four program tracks designed to provide insight into the progress and programs in physiology: aging and sex differences; cardiovascular pathology; stem cells; and inflammation and immune responses. The meeting will also include the prestigious APS award lectures. The Walter B. Cannon Memorial Award Lecture will be given by Roberto Bolli. The lecture is entitled, "The nitric oxide-carbon monoxide module: A fundamental mechanism of cellular resistance to stress." The Henry Pickering Bowditch Memorial Award Lecture will be presented by Larissa Shimoda. Her lecture is entitled, "Effects of chronic hypoxia on the pulmonary circulation: role of HIF-1."

Press Passes Available for Experimental Biology 2012 in San Diego

Released February 7, 2012 - The APS is one of six scientific societies who will hold their joint scientific sessions and annual meetings, known as Experimental Biology (EB), from April 21-25, 2012 at the San Diego Convention Center. Press passes for the meeting are available for qualifying members of the press. See the application at or send an inquiry to

Select Symposia Highlights from the APS’s 125th Anniversary Meeting

Released February 21, 2012 - This year’s APS meeting at EB will host more than 2,600 abstracts and a variety of symposia. A few of the symposia presentations are highlighted here.

Mayo Clinic Anesthesiologist Earns APS’s Walter B. Cannon Award

Released April 20, 2013 - Michael Joyner, M.D. will present the American Physiological Society’s Walter B. Cannon Award Lecture on April 20, 2013, during the Society’s 126th annual meeting. The Cannon Award is the Society’s pre-eminent award. The Mayo Clinic anesthesiologist will discuss physiology’s enduring relevancy.