The American Physiological Society Press Release

press release logo

APS Contact: APS Communications Office


Phone: 301.634.7209

Twitter: @APSPhysiology

APS 2016 Distinguished Lectureship Award Winners to Present Talks at Experimental Biology

Awardees recognized for excellence in physiology, mentorship

San Diego (March 31, 2016)—The American Physiological Society (APS) has announced the recipients of its 2016 distinguished lecturer awards. APS is pleased to recognize these outstanding honorees who will present their lectures at the Experimental Biology 2016 meeting (April 2–6 in San Diego).

Amira Klip, PhD,
of the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto is the winner of the Physiology in Perspective: The Walter B. Cannon Award Lectureship. This lectureship is the most prestigious award that APS bestows and recognizes the lifetime achievement of an outstanding physiological scientist and APS member. Klip will present her lecture “Muscle-Immune Cell Crosstalk in the Genesis of Insulin Resistence” on Saturday, April 2, at 5:30 p.m. in SDCC Room 20A.  
Sean D. Stocker, PhD,
has won the Henry Pickering Bowditch Award Lectureship for early career achievement. This award honors original and outstanding accomplishments in the field of physiology and is given to an APS member under 42 years of age or who is less than eight years from the start of the first faculty or staff research scientist position beyond postdoctoral training. Stocker will present his lecture “Sodium-Sensing Central to Salt-Sensitive Hypertension” on Sunday, April 3, at 5:45 p.m. in SDCC Room 20A. 
Ormond MacDougald, PhD
, is the winner of the Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award. MacDougald is professor in the departments of molecular and integrative physiology, and internal medicine in the division of metabolism, endocrinology, and diabetes at the University of Michigan Medical School. The Schimdt-Nielsen award honors an APS member who has made outstanding contributions to physiological research and demonstrated dedication and commitment to mentorship. Awardees demonstrate excellence in training of young physiologists whether by mentoring, guiding and nurturing their professional and personal development, developing novel education methods and materials, promoting scientific outreach efforts, attracting individuals to the field of physiology, or by otherwise fostering an environment exceptionally conducive to education in physiology. MacDougald will deliver his lecture and reflections on mentoring on Monday at 1 p.m. in San Diego Ballroom A of the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel.  

Learn more about the 2016 award recipients of APS distinguished lectureships on the APS website.

About Experimental Biology 2016

Experimental Biology is an annual meeting comprised of more than 14,000 scientists and exhibitors from six sponsoring societies and multiple guest societies. With a mission to share the newest scientific concepts and research findings shaping clinical advances, the meeting offers an unparalleled opportunity for exchange among scientists from across the United States and the world who represent dozens of scientific areas, from laboratory to translational to clinical research.

Physiology is the study of how molecules, cells, tissues and organs function in health and disease. Established in 1887, the American Physiological Society (APS) was the first U.S. society in the biomedical sciences field. The Society represents more than 10,500 members and publishes 15 peer-reviewed journals with a worldwide readership.



APS 2017 Distinguished Lectureship Award Winners to Present Talks at Experimental Biology

Released April 18, 2017 - APS is pleased to recognize our outstanding Distinguished Lecturer honorees—including Michael J. Welsh, MD; Brant Isakson, PhD; and Kurt Albertine, PhD—who will present their talks at the APS annual meeting at Experimental Biology 2017.

Altered Immune Cells May Both Contribute to Preeclampsia and Offer New Hope for Treatment

Released April 23, 2017 - In a new study presented at the APS annual meeting at Experimental Biology 2017, researchers have found that the immune system’s natural killer (NK) cells activate and change in response to placental ischemia. Disrupting these altered cells seems to blunt some of the dangerous complications of the condition, including high blood pressure (hypertension) and inflammation in the mother and growth restriction in the fetus.

How Walking Benefits the Brain

Released April 24, 2017 - Researchers at New Mexico Highlands University (NMHU) found that the foot’s impact during walking sends pressure waves through the arteries that significantly modify and can increase the supply of blood to the brain. The research is presented at the APS annual meeting at Experimental Biology 2017 in Chicago.