History of the Oklahoma Society of Physiologists

Initial planning meetings were held in 1980 and 1981. The first annual OPS meeting was held on June 11, 1982 at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater. Traditionally, OPS meetings are held in June at the institution of the OPS president.

In 1997 the Oklahoma Physiological Society applied for and received chapter status with the American Physiological Society. This greatly enhances the ability of the society to play an active role in community education of the physiological sciences. Through the efforts of its members, the Oklahoma Physiological Society will continue to foster professional collaboration among Oklahoma institutions and high schools in order to meet the contemporary challenges confronting scientists and educators of physiology.

Oklahoma institutions that have sponsored OPS meetings include:
Oklahoma University Health Sciences Center, Oklahoma City
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater
OSU-College of Osteopathic Medicine, Tulsa
Oral Roberts University, Tulsa
Tulsa University, Tulsa
University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond

Past OPS presidents:
Jerald Killian, 1983-84
Ken Dormer, 1984-85
Warren Finn, 1985-86
Jay Farber, 1986-87
Jerry Hurst, 1987-88
Fred Peterson, 1988-89
Beverly Cox, 1989-90
Barbara Shirley, 1990-91
Roger Thies, 1991-92
Kirby Jarolim, 1992-93
William Radke, 1993-94
Jim Blankemeyer, 1994-95
Steve Hull, 1995-96
Alexander Rouch, 1996-97
Kirk Barron, 1997-98
Gerald Johnson III, 1998-1999
Bruce Benjamin, 1999-2000