Committee on Honors
This Committee is composed of five members of the Society which include APS members who have been elected to NAS, NAE, and/or IOM. The Chair of the Committee is the APS Past President. The Society's Executive Director is an ex officio member, without vote. Members shall be appointed to committees for three‑year terms beginning January 1. Members are eligible for reappointment.

The Committee on Honors meets once annually in conjunction with the Experimental Biology meeting. Additional committee business may be conducted via conference calls, webinars, and by email.

Duties of the Committee are to:

  • Coordinate the nomination process of APS members to National Academy of Sciences (NAS), Institute of Medicine (IOM), or organizations of similar stature
  • Coordinate the nomination process of APS members for major scientific awards
  • Identify APS members to serve on task forces or subcommittees with these organizations