Leonard Share Award
Recipients of the Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis 
Section Leonard Share Award

Current 2018 Awardee:


J. Thomas Cunningham, 
Univ of North Texas

Dr. Leonard Share was responsible for recognizing WEH research as a sub-discipline with the APS, and for the subsequent formation of the WEH section in 1982.   The Leonard Share Award was established in 2015 to recognize a WEH member that has contributed their time and talents to our section as well as to APS.  The member cannot have served as President of APS, but most likely has served in many other capacities and is one of our "unsung heroes".  The Awardee will also have a well-recognized research program that has contributed to the knowledge of WEH research.  Nominations for the Leonard Share Award are solicited from the WEH membership, and evaluated by a selection committee composed of senior WEH members.   The Awardee will receive a certificate, $1000, and a custom-designed WEH section plaque.

Past Awardees:

Peter Bie, Univ of Southern Denmark

Joseph R. Haywood, Michigan State Univ.

David Brooks, Johnson and Johnson