Ernest H. Starling Distinguished Lectureship Award

Recipients of the Ernest H. Starling Distinguished Lectureship

Current 2018 Awardee:


  David Mattson,  Medical College of Wisconsin

The Starling Award is the most prestigious of the APS Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis Section awards and is awarded annually to an APS member recognized for exceptional contributions and lifelong dedication to Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis research.  The recipient is chosen by the Section as a representative of the best within the discipline. Lecturers present and are active participants at the Experimental Biology meeting. Each year, four of the 12 lecturers give plenary lectures that incorporate the main meeting topic. In the years that sections do not have plenary lectures, the lecturer presents one hour of a featured topic programmed by the section. Each recipient receives a $1,000 honorarium and up to $2,000 to cover travel and per diem expenses incurred during the meeting. 

 Past Awardees:

Peter Bie, Univ of Southern Denmark

David M. Pollock, Univ. of Alabama at Birmingham

Jane Reckelhoff
“Sex and Hypertension: Differential Responses to Sex Steroids”
Univ. of Mississippi Med. Ctr.

Howard Jacob, Med. College of Wisconsin

 Donald E. Kohan, M.D., Ph.D.
 Univ of Utah HSC, Div. of Nephrology


 Kathryn Sandberg, Ph.D.
“The Female Paradox: Resistance and Vulnerability in Hypertension and Renal-Vascular Disease”
 Director, Center for the Study of Sex Differences"

 Professor, Nephrology & Hypertension, Department of Medicine
 Georgetown University

 Curt D. Sigmund, PhD
“Divergent Mechanism Regulating Fluid Intake and Metabolism by the Brain Renin-Angiotensin System: A  Story of Drinking and Donuts” 
 Professor and Head Roy J. Carver Chair in Hypertension Research 
 University of Iowa

 Kirk Conrad, PhD
“Maternal Vasodilation in Pregnancy: The Emerging Role of Relaxin” 
 Professor and Head Roy J. Carver Chair in Hypertension Research 
 University of Florida College of Medicine

 Alicia McDonough, PhD
“Life in the fast lane: Sodium transporter traffic regulates blood pressure and volume.”
 Professor, Cell and Neurobiology, Keck School of Medicine
 University of Southern California

 Joey P Granger, PhD
“Hypertension During Preeclampsia: A Lesson In Integrative Physiology”
 Billy S. Guyton Distinguished Professor 
 Professor of Physiology and Medicine 
 University of Mississippi Medical Center

 Pedro Jose, MD, PhD
“Salt Sensitive Hypertension, A Problem Of Communication”
 Professor of Pediatrics and Physiology and Biophysics
 Vice Chair of Pediatric Research
 Georgetown University

 Thomas Coffman, MD
“The Critical Role of the Kidney in Hypertension: Implications for Pathogenesis and Therapy”
 James R. Clapp Professor of Medicine 
 Chief of the Division of Nephrology 
 Duke University Medical Center.

 Giuseppe Bianchi,
"The genetic control of renal Na handling in primary hypertension.”
 Professor of Renal Medicine 
 Director of Division of Nephrology, Dialysis and Hypertension
 University Vita Salute San Raffaele

 Christopher Wilcox, MD
"Oxidative stress and functional NO deficiency in the kidney: A critical link to hypertension?”
 George E. Schreiner Professor of Nephrology 
 Chief of the Nephrology and Hypertension Division
 Georgetown University

 Friedrich C. Luft, MD
“The Role of Genetic Models in Elucidating Cardiovascular Reflex Regulation.”
 Professor of Medicine &Head of the Nephrology and Hypertension Section at the Franz Volhard Clinic,
 Chief of the First Clinic for Internal Medicine,
 Humboldt University, Berlin

 Richard P. Lifton, MD
“Genetics, the Kidney and Hypertension.”
 Chairman of the Department of Genetics 
 Professor of Genetics, Internal Medicine, and Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
 Yale University

 Richard J. Roman, Medical College of Wisconsin

 Gerald F. DiBona, University of Iowa

 Alan Kim Johnson, University of Iowa
 John E. Hall, University of Mississippi Medical Center

 Jurgen Schnermann, University of Michigan

 Allen Cowley, Jr., Medical College of Wisconsin

 Pierre Corvol, College de France

 John Laragh, Cornell University Medical Center