Carl J. Wiggers Memorial Award
Recipients of the Carl J. Wiggers Memorial Award 

Current 2018 Awardee:

Curt D. Sigmund, Ph.D.
Univ Iowa

Past Awardees:
Gerd F. Heusch, M.D., Univ Essen

Gerald A. Meininger, Ph.D.
Univ. of Missouri

Jos A.E. Spaan, Ph.D.
Amsterdam University

William Chilian
Northeast Ohio Medical University

 David D. Gutterman 
 Med. Coll. of Wisconsin
"Novel Pathways Regulating Microvascular Tone and Function"

 R. Clinton Webb
 Med. Coll. of Georgia,  Ge
orgia HSC
"Calcium homeostasis and endoplasmic reticulum stress in vascular function"


 Roberto Bolli
 Univ. Louisville
"Role of Stem/Progenitor Cells in Cardiovascular Pathophysiology and Therapy"

 David G. Harrison
 Emory Univ. Sch. of Med.
“Hypertension, Inflammation and Adaptive Immunity.”

 David Harder
 Med. Col. of Wisconsin
“The Role of Brain Lipids in Cerebral Function.”

 Irving H. Zucker
 Univ. of Nebraska Med. Ctr. 
"Neural Control of the Circulation: Angiotensin and ROS in Heart Failure and Hypertension."

 Charles Antzelevitch
 Masonic Med. Res. Lab.
"The Role of Spatial Dispersion of Repolarization in Inherited and Acquired Sudden Cardiac Death Syndromes"

 Paul Vanhoutte
 Sponsored by Dr. Glen Laine Texas
 A & M Univ., M.E. DeBakey Inst.
“Consequences of Endothelial Dysfunction.”

 James B. Bassingthwaighte,  Univ. of Washington 

 Eugene M. Renkin, Univ. of California, Davis School of Med. Prof. Emeritus

 George Cooper, IV,  Med. Univ. of South Carolina

 Howard Morgan, Evan Pugh - Prof. Emeritus

 Allan M Lefer
 Jefferson Med. Col., Thomas Jefferson Univ.
 Prof. Emeritus

 Matthew N. Levy, Case Western Reserve Univ.
 Prof. Emeritus

 Loring Rowell,  Univ. of Washington - Prof. Emeritus

 A. Clifford Barger, Harvard Univ. Med. Sch.

 Gabor Kaley,  New York Med. Col.

 Paul C. Johnson, Univ. of California, San Diego

 James Covell,  Univ. of California, San Diego -  Prof. Emeritus

 Eugene Braunwald, Harvard Med. Sch.

 Donald D. Heistad,  Univ. of Iowa

 Walter C. Randall, Taylor Univ.

 Harris J. Granger, Texas A & M Hlth. Sci. Ctr.

 John T. Shepherd, Mayo Clinic & Fndn. - Prof. Emeritus

 Allen Cowley,  Med. Col. of Wisconsin

 David Bohr, Univ. of Michigan Med. Sch.

 Hermes Kontos, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. - Prof. Emeritus

 James O. Davis, Univ. of Missouri, Sch. of Med.

 Stephen F. Vatner,  Univ. of Med. and Dentistry, NJ

 Robert M. Berne, Univ. of Virginia Hlth. Sci. Ctr.

 Brian R. Duling, Univ. of Virginia Sch. of Med.

 Julius H. Comroe, Cardiovasc. Res. Inst.
 Prof. Emeritus

 Benjamin Zweifach, Univ. of California, San Diego
 Prof. Emeritus

 Maurice B. Visscher, Univ. of Minnesota

 Jere H. Mitchell, Univ. of Texas Southwestern 
 Med. Ctr.

 A.C. Guyton, Univ. of Mississippi Med. Ctr. - Professor Emeritus

 Norman Alpert, Univ. of Vermont, Col. of Med.

 J.R. Pappenheimer, Harvard Univ.

 Vernon Bishop, Univ. of Texas Hlth. Sci. Ctr. - Prof. Emeritus

 Stanley J. Sarnoff, Rodana Res. Corp./Survival 
 Technol., Inc (STI)

 Eric O. Feigl, Univ. of Washington Med. Sch.

 Donald E. Gregg, Walter Reed Army Inst. of Army Med. Ctr.

 Francois Abboud, Univ. Iowa Roy J. & Lucille, Carver Col. of Med.

 Earl H. Wood, Mayo Clinic - Prof. Emeritus

 Aubrey E. Taylor, Univ. of South Alabama, Col. of Med.- Prof. Emeritus

 Louis N. Katz, Cardiovasc. Inst. - Director Emeritus

 Kiichi Sagawa, John Hopkins Univ. Sch. of Med.

 Francis J. Haddy, Uniformed Services, Univ. of Hlth. Sci.