Paper of the Year Award Recipients

2016 Recipient

Nathan Zaidman

Presentation of the award to Dr. Nathan Zaidman by Prof. Josephine Adams, Editor-in-Chief, at EB 2017.

In this special podcast the Editor-in-Chief of AJP-Cell, Prof. Josephine C. Adams (University of Bristol, UK), has a discussion with the AJP-Cell Paper of the Year 2016 Award winner, Dr. Nathan Zaidman (now at John Hopkins, USA), and his mentor, Prof. Scott O'Grady (University of Minnesota, USA). The research underlying the winning paper was carried out as part of Nathan's Ph.D. research in Prof. O'Grady's laboratory.This podcast explores the major findings of the 2016 AJP-Cell Physiology Paper of the Year “Differentiation of human bronchial epithelialcells: role of hydrocortisone in development of ion transport pathways involvedin mucociliary clearance” (DOI: 10.1152/ajpcell.00073.2016). The authors explain how they investigated the role of hydrocortisone (HC) in differentiation and development of the ion transport phenotype of normal human bronchial epithelial cells under air-liquid interface conditions.The discussion also touches on possible future research directions. Dr. Zaidman shares valuable advice for other students about the key factor to consider when it comes to choosing a postdoctoral research project.

2015 Recipient

Anna Vainshtein

AJP-Cell Paper of the Year 2015 Award winner, Dr. Anna Vainshtein is pictured with her PhD supervisor, Dr. David Hood. The award was presented at the CaMPS/AJP-Cell-sponsored symposium at EB 2016 by Editor-in-Chief, Prof. Jo Adams.

Anna Vainshtein, of Baylor College of Medicine, won the AJPCell Physiology Paper of the Year 2015 for “Role of PGC-1α during acute exercise-induced autophagy and mitophagy in skeletal muscle,” co-authored by Liam D. Tryon, Marion Pauly, and David A. Hood.

The award, presented at the CaMPS/AJP–Cell-sponsored symposium, recognizes a graduate student or early-stage postdoctoral researcher who is sole first author on an outstanding paper. LISTEN to a podcast with Vainshtein and her PhD supervisor, David A. Hood, on the AJP–Cell Podbean website. AJPCell Physiology will run another Paper of the Year competition for 2016. 

2014 Recipient

Jennifer Durham

Dr. Jennifer Durham, a post-doctoral researcher in the laboratory of Prof. Ira Herman, Tufts University, was awarded the AJP-Cell 2014 Paper of the Year award for her research paper “Pericyte contractility controls endothelial cell cycle progression and sprouting: insights into angiogenic switch mechanics” by Jennifer T. Durham, Howard K. Surks, Brian M. Dulmovits and Ira M. Herman, published in American Journal of Physiology - Cell Physiology (Published 1 November 2014 Vol. 307 no. 9, C878-C892 DOI: 10.1152/ajpcell.00185.2014). The Paper of the Year award recognises a graduate student or early-stage post-doctoral researcher who is sole first author on an outstanding paper published in AJP-Cell. The award was presented at the CaMPS/AJP-Cell-sponsored Symposium at EB2015 by Editor-in-Chief, Prof. Jo Adams and Deputy Editor, Prof. Jason Yuan.