reckelhoffIntroducing Jane F. Reckelhoff

Jane F. Reckelhoff is Billy S. Guyton Distinguished Professor, Director of the Women’s Health Research Center, Director of Research Development for the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, and Professor of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.  After being a Critical Care nurse at Norfolk General Hospital, Norfolk, Virginia, for 9 years, she moved to Williamsburg where she received a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from the College of William and Mary in May 1982. She then went to the Medical College of Virginia/Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond to study Biochemistry under Judith Bond.  Reckelhoff’s graduate work was on meprin, a zinc-metalloproteinase in the proximal tubule in kidney.  She completed a Ph.D. in Biochemistry in December 1985.  

In January of 1986, she joined the laboratory of George DeMartino in the Physiology Department at Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, where she studied the ATP-dependent protease that later became known as the proteasome.  In the Fall of 1987, she moved to the Physiology Department at West Virginia University in Morgantown, where she worked with Chris Baylis.  During this postdoctoral fellowship under the tutelage of  Baylis, Reckelhoff began her work to determine how sex differences impact renal function and disease, and the consequences of aging on renal function.  She performed most of these studies using the technique of renal micropuncture.  

In January 1991, Reckelhoff accepted a position as an assistant professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC).  In 2014, Jane Reckelhoff accepted the position of Director of Research in the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs where she is charged with expanding and improving research infrastructure at UMMC.  

In the years since joining the faculty in Jackson, Reckelhoff’s research has focused on the role that sex steroids play in control of blood pressure and renal function, and the mechanisms responsible for postmenopausal hypertension. She has a special interest the differential roles played by testosterone in health and disease in males and females.  To this end, Reckelhoff has been performing studies to determine the mechanisms by which blood pressure is elevated in women with polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), a condition that is characterized by elevated circulating testosterone levels.  Androgen supplements in a female rat model of PCOS causes weight gain, insulin resistance, dyslipidemia, elevated plasma leptin and increased blood pressure.  In contrast, she is also interested in the consequences of the reduction in circulating testosterone levels in men who have chronic diseases, such as obesity and metabolic syndrome and renal disease.  She found that testosterone replacement in obese male rats caused them to lose weight, reversed the metabolic syndrome characteristics, such as insulin resistance and dyslipidemia, and reduced plasma leptin and inflammation.  However, despite these metabolic improvements, testosterone supplements in obese male rat increased their blood pressure, suggesting that while the popular testosterone supplements in obese men may be beneficial for their symptoms of metabolic syndrome and inflammation, they should be monitored for elevations in their blood pressure.

Click here to read the complete bio of Jane Reckelhoff.


Jane F. Reckelhoff

Patricia E. Molina

David M. Pollock

Kim E. Barrett

Susan M. Barman

Joey Granger

Peter D. Wagner

Gary C. Sieck

Irving H. Zucker

Hannah V. Carey

Dale J. Benos

Douglas C. Eaton

D. Neil Granger

John A. Williams

Barbara A. Horwitz

John E. Hall

Gerald F. DiBona

Walter F. Boron

Luis Gabriel Navar

Allen W. Cowley, Jr.

James A. Schafer

Leonard S. Jefferson

Brian R. Duling

William H. Dantzler

Stanley G. Schultz

Norman C. Staub

Shu Chien

Vernon S. Bishop

Aubrey E. Taylor

Harvey V. Sparks, Jr.

Franklyn G. Knox

Howard Edwin Morgan

John B. West

Alfred P. Fishman

Walter Clark Randall

Francis J. Haddy

Earl Howard Wood

Ernst Knobil

David Francis Bohr

William F. Ganong

Ewald Erdman Selkurt

Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen

Arthur C. Guyton

Daniel C. Tosteson

Robert M. Berne

John R. Brobeck

A. Clifford Barger

C. Ladd Prosser

Loren D. Carlson

Robert W. Berliner

Robert Elder Forster II

John M. Brookhart

John Richard Pappenheimer

Hermann Rahn

Hymen S. Mayerson

Horace Willard Davenport

Julius H. Comroe, Jr.

Robert F. Pitts

Hallowell Davis

Louis N. Katz

Alan C. Burton

William F. Hamilton

Hiram E. Essex

Edward F. Adolph

Eugene M. Landis

Ralph W. Gerard

David B. Dill

Henry Cuthbert Bazett

Carl J. Wiggers

Maurice B. Visscher

Wallace O. Fenn

Philip Bard

Andrew C. Ivy

Walter Eugene Garrey

Frank Charles Mann

Charles Wilson Greene

Arno B. Luckhardt

Walter Joseph Meek

Joseph Erlanger

Anton Julius Carlson

John James Rickard Macleod

Warren Plimpton Lombard

Frederic Schiller Lee

Walter Bradford Cannon

Samuel James Meltzer

William H. Howell

Russell Henry Chittenden

S. Weir Mitchell

Henry P. Bowditch