sandsIntroducing Jeff M. Sands

91st President of APS

Jeff M. Sands is the Juha P. Kokko Professor of Medicine and Physiology, and Director of the Renal Division, at Emory University School of Medicine. Sands received his BA from Harvard College in 1977 and his MD from Boston University School of Medicine in 1981. He trained in Internal Medicine at the University of Chicago from 1981 to 1983 and at the NIH's National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) from 1983 to 1984. He obtained his renal research fellowship training in the Laboratory of Kidney and Electrolyte Metabolism, NHLBI, NIH from 1984 to 1988, after which he did a clinical nephrology fellowship at Emory from 1988 to 1989. Sands joined the Emory faculty as an assistant professor in 1989, was promoted to associate professor in 1993, and to professor 1998. He accepted the Kokko Professorship and Division Director position at Emory in 2002. He served as Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research from 2006 to 2010, and as Executive Vice-Chair of Medicine from 2009 to 2015.

Jeff Sands has been an active member of APS and the Renal Section since 1986. He has served on the Renal Section Steering Committee from 1992 to 1999, and as Renal Section chair from 1999 to 2002. Sands served as Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Physiology—Renal Physiology from 2001 to 2007. He served as an APS Councilor from 2003 to 2006 and as APS Finance Committee Chair from 2009 to 2014. Sands has also been active in other societies, including serving as Chair of the American Society of Nephrology Program Committee in 2004 and as Chair of the American Heart Association Kidney Council from 2008 to 2010. He served on the NIH General Medicine B study section from 1998 to 2002 and on the NIDDK Board of Scientific Councilors from 2008 to 2013.

Sands has received several honors. In 2006, he received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Boston University School of Medicine. In 2013, he was the Carl Gottschalk Distinguished Lecturer for the APS Renal Section. In 2014, he received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the American Heart Association. In 2015, he was the Barry M. Brenner Endowed Lecturer for the American Society of Nephrology. In September 2018, he will receive the Doctor Medicinae Honoris Causa ( from Aarhus University in Denmark. Sands is a member of the American Association of Physicians, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, and the American Clinical and Climatological Association.

Sands has received continuous support from the NIDDK since joining the Emory faculty in 1989. He is PI of an R01 that has been funded since 1989. Over the years, he has had other R01s, an R21, and been a project PI on a P01. He has also had several grants from the American Heart Association. In addition to research grants, Sands is the PI on the Emory Renal Division's T32 NIH Postdoctoral Training Grant and an R25 to train undergraduate students in renal research.

Click here to read Jeff Sands' full bio

Jeff M. Sands

Dennis Brown

Jane F. Reckelhoff

Patricia E. Molina

David M. Pollock

Kim E. Barrett

Susan M. Barman

Joey Granger

Peter D. Wagner

Gary C. Sieck

Irving H. Zucker

Hannah V. Carey

Dale J. Benos

Douglas C. Eaton

D. Neil Granger

John A. Williams

Barbara A. Horwitz

John E. Hall

Gerald F. DiBona

Walter F. Boron

Luis Gabriel Navar

Allen W. Cowley, Jr.

James A. Schafer

Leonard S. Jefferson

Brian R. Duling

William H. Dantzler

Stanley G. Schultz

Norman C. Staub

Shu Chien

Vernon S. Bishop

Aubrey E. Taylor

Harvey V. Sparks, Jr.

Franklyn G. Knox

Howard Edwin Morgan

John B. West

Alfred P. Fishman

Walter Clark Randall

Francis J. Haddy

Earl Howard Wood

Ernst Knobil

David Francis Bohr

William F. Ganong

Ewald Erdman Selkurt

Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen

Arthur C. Guyton

Daniel C. Tosteson

Robert M. Berne

John R. Brobeck

A. Clifford Barger

C. Ladd Prosser

Loren D. Carlson

Robert W. Berliner

Robert Elder Forster II

John M. Brookhart

John Richard Pappenheimer

Hermann Rahn

Hymen S. Mayerson

Horace Willard Davenport

Julius H. Comroe, Jr.

Robert F. Pitts

Hallowell Davis

Louis N. Katz

Alan C. Burton

William F. Hamilton

Hiram E. Essex

Edward F. Adolph

Eugene M. Landis

Ralph W. Gerard

David B. Dill

Henry Cuthbert Bazett

Carl J. Wiggers

Maurice B. Visscher

Wallace O. Fenn

Philip Bard

Andrew C. Ivy

Walter Eugene Garrey

Frank Charles Mann

Charles Wilson Greene

Arno B. Luckhardt

Walter Joseph Meek

Joseph Erlanger

Anton Julius Carlson

John James Rickard Macleod

Warren Plimpton Lombard

Frederic Schiller Lee

Walter Bradford Cannon

Samuel James Meltzer

William H. Howell

Russell Henry Chittenden

S. Weir Mitchell

Henry P. Bowditch