The APS is governed by an elected Council consisting of the President, the President-Elect, the immediate Past President, and nine Councillors.

Management of the affairs of the Society is the responsibility of a full-time Executive Director appointed by and responsible to the Council. The Society maintains a staff and offices on the campus of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) in Bethesda, Maryland.

The Society conducts its operations based on a Constitution and Bylaws, as given in the Society's Operational Guide. As a nonprofit scientific organization, the Society holds tax-exempt status.

2017 APS Council

Dennis Brown, PhD
Program Membrane Biology, Massachusetts General Hospital, 185 Cambridge St - Simches Res Ctr, Boston, MA 02114
Phone: 617-726-5665
Fax: 6176423182
Term ends: 2018

Past President
Jane F. Reckelhoff, PhD
Department of Physiology/Biophysics, University of Mississippi Medical Center, 2500 N. State St, Jackson, MS 39216-4505
Phone: 601-984-1819
Fax: 601-984-2105
Term ends: 2016


Jeff M. Sands, MD
Emory University, School of Medicine, Renal Division, 1639 Pierce Drive, NE, WMB Room 338, Atlanta, GA 30322-0001
Phone: 404-727-2525
Fax: 404-727-3425
Term ends: 2018

David D. Gutterman, MD 

Medical College of Wisconsin, Office of Research, 8701 Watertown Plank Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53226
Phone: 414-955-8495
Fax: 414-955-6565
Term ends: 2018

Charles H. Lang, PhD
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine, Dept. Cellular/Molecular Physiology, 500 University Dr-(H166), Hershey, PA 17033-0850
Phone: 717-531-5538
Fax: 717-531-7667
Term ends: 2020

Lisa R. Leon, PhD
US Army Research Institution of Environmental Medicine, Thermal Mountain Medicine Division, Kansas St Bldg 42, Natick, MA 01760
Phone: 508-233-4862
Fax: 508-233-5298
Term ends: 2018

Merry L. Lindsey, PhD

University of Mississippi Medical Center, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, 2500 North State St - Rm G351-04, Jackson, MS 39216
Phone: 601-815-1329
Fax: 601-984-1817
Term ends: 2020

Ronald M. Lynch, PhD
University of Arizona Health Science Center, Department of Physiology, College of Medicine, 4104, Tucson, AZ 85724
Phone: 520-626-2472
Fax: 520-626-5051
Term ends: 2020

Jennifer S. Pollock, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham, Cardio-Renal Physiology & Medicine, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35294
Phone:(205) 975-7525
Term ends: 2019
Willis K. Samson, PhD
Pharmacological & Physiological Sciences, Saint Louis University School of Medicine, 1402 South Grand Boulevard, St Louis, MO 63104-1083
Phone: (314) 977-8677
Fax: (314 977-8670
Term ends: 2019

Harold D. Schultz, PhD
Dept Cellular & Integrative Physiology, University Nebraska Med Ctr, 985850 Nebrasaka Med Ctr, Omaha, NE 68198-5850 
Phone: 402-559-7167
Fax: 402-559+-4438
Term ends: 2019

Irene C. Solomon, PhD
Department of Physiology & Biophysics, Stony Brook University, Basic Science Tower T5-176, Stony Brook, NY 11794-8661 
Phone: 631-444-2932
Fax: 631-444-3432
Term ends: 2018

Education Committee Chair
Jeffrey L. Osborn, PhD
Department of Biology, University of Kentucky, 101 Thomas Hunt Morgan Bldg., Lexington, KY 40506
Phone: 859-257-3988
Term ends: 2018

Finance Committee Chair
Meredith Hay, PhD
Department of Physiology, University of Arizona, 1501 N. Campbell Rd, Room 4103, Tucson, AZ 85724
Phone: 520-626-7384
Fax: 520-621-9118
Term ends: 2017

Joint Program Committee Chair
Robert L. Hester , PhD
University of Mississippi, Department of Physiology, 2500 N. State St., Jackson, MS 39216
Phone: 601-984-1816
Fax: 601-984-1817
Term ends: 2016

Publications Committee Chair
Curt D. Sigmund, PhD
Department of Pharmacology, University of Iowa, 2-471B-1 Bowen Science Bldg, Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-7410
Fax: 319-335-8930
Term ends: 2019

Science Policy Committee Chair
Laura McCabe, PhD
Department of Physiology, Michigan State University, Biomedical Physical Science Bldg., 567 Wilson Road, East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-884-5152
Term Ends: 2019

Section Advisory Committee Chair
Wolfgang M. Kuebler, MD, DMS
Department of Surgery, St. Michael's Hospital, University of Toronto, 30 Bond St, Kennan Research Center Rm 620, Toronto, ON M5B 1W8
Phone: 416-864-5924
Fax: 416-864-5958
Term Ends: 2017

FASEB Board Representative
Kevin C. Kregel, PhD
Department of Health & Human Physiology, University of Iowa, 532 Field House, Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: (319) 594-1614 
Fax: (319) 335-6966 
Term Ends: 2021

Executive Director
Martin Frank, PhD
American Physiological Society
9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3991
Phone: 301-634-7118
Fax: 301-634-7241

APS Staff
Linda Allen
APS - Membership
9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3991
Phone: 301-634-7172
Fax: 301-634-7241

Marsha Lakes Matyas, PhD
APS - Education
9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3991
Phone: 301-634-7132
Fax: 301-634-7098

Robert Price
APS - Business Office
9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3991
Phone: 301-634-7173
Fax: 301-634-7418

Rita Scheman
APS - Publications
9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3991
Phone: 301-634-7071
Fax: 301-634-7245

Scarletta Whitsett
APS - Executive Office
9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3991
Phone: 301-634-7165
Fax: 301-634-7241